Get to Know an Agent in Attendance: Erin Clyburn of The Jennifer De Chiara Literary Agency

Screen Shot 2019-10-22 at 6.07.56 PMErin Clyburn is a literary agent with The Jennifer De Chiara Literary Agency.

Erin joined The Jennifer De Chiara Literary Agency as Associate Agent after an internship and apprenticeship with Corvisiero Literary Agency. She has worked as a copy editor and recipe editor in the magazine industry and was general manager and director of collection development for Turtleback Books. She received her BA in English Literature from Mississippi State University and her MA in Children’s Literature from Hollins University. When not working, Erin loves hiking, cooking, traveling, painting, working on a manuscript or two, and trying to keep her three rabbits, Felix, Agnes, and Valentino, from chewing up every baseboard in the house.

She is seeking:

Children’s:

  • Picture books: Nonfiction picture books ONLY, particularly multicultural picture books and picture books about lesser-known individuals or historical events
  • Chapter books: High-concept chapter book series
  • Middle grade: Stories with big hearts and unforgettable voices, and especially mysteries (Did you write a novel like The Westing Game, Holes, or Greenglass House? Send it to her!)
  • Young adult: Dark contemporary, horror, thriller, mystery
  • All children’s: Graphic novels, high-interest nonfiction, magical realism, characters going on journeys

Adult:

  • Fiction: Character-driven literary fiction; plot-driven suspense, mysteries, and thrillers in the vein of Gillian Flynn or Tana French; laugh-out-loud novels about quirky, dysfunctional families; all horror from psychological to gothic to slasher; multigenerational family sagas like We Are Not Ourselves by Matthew Thomas

Nonfiction:

  • Pop science (Oliver Sacks, Mary Roach); high-interest nonfiction, particularly stories about fascinating people and issues that haven’t been told before (Radium Girls, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks); true crime; cookbooks; science- or culture-focused memoirs (My Brain on Fire, Educated, Full Body Burden)

Across the board:

  • Emotional, character-driven sci-fi (Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go, Anderson’s Feed)
  • An Alabamian, Erin would love to see diverse Southern voices writing stories set in the South.
  • #ownvoices
  • Characters dealing with mental illness, neurodiverse representation

Not seeking:

  • ​Erin is not the right person for fiction picture books, romance, Westerns, epic fantasy, political or military thrillers, hard sci-fi, short stories, or stories with a strong focus on religion.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s